[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 17 KB, 228x346, the old man and the sea.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6348627 No.6348627 [Reply] [Original]

I'm trying to write a literary novelette. I don't know to... expect. I'm about 3k in out of a forecasted 10k. I've never written anything this long before.

Got any advice for me? How do your writing processes work?

Pic unrelated; just a nice story that inspired me.

>> No.6348693

>>6348627
Tell me about your novelette.

>> No.6348713
File: 17 KB, 210x240, 1424782282425.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

You can't go wrong when you Write

>> No.6348772

>>6348693

It's an allegory for social media. MC lives in a place where they only think in terms of very short sentences and that's how they decide political/philosophical/social matters. She runs away and then lives with some people who write essays. Then the tide comes in on the island and starts to destroy the shoreline. The essay writing community cannot decide what to do but the social media style one immediately does a bit of community action and builds a sea wall.

>> No.6348789

Best advice I can give:

Draft 1: Just write the fucking story.
Draft 2: Flesh it out a bit more.
Draft 3: Remove all the pretentious crap you added in draft 2.
Draft 4: Fine tune the narrative.

>> No.6348791

>>6348693
>>6348693

It's an allegory for social media. MC lives in a place where they only think in terms of very short sentences and that's how they decide political/philosophical/social matters. She runs away and then lives with some people who write essays. Then the tide comes in on the island and starts to destroy the shoreline. The essay writing community cannot decide what to do but the social media style one immediately does a bit of community action and builds a sea wall.