[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 42 KB, 400x301, 23423523.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2241962 No.2241962 [Reply] [Original]

Good afternoon /lit/. I'm really quite curious about the works of the great Ludwig Wittgenstein... I'm still fairly new to philosophy and literature, but my love for it is ever growing. I've read, so far, the dialogues of Plato save for his Republic, a good bit of Dostoyevsky, and some Nietzsche.

This man seems incredibly interesting to me as well. Where would you recommend I begin, /lit/? Shall I simply start with his Tractatus?

>> No.2241980

Begin elsewhere. Wittgenstein is some pretty hefty stuff. Very interesting, but you won't get the full meaning going in without some background. Reading books on Semantics helps.

>> No.2241984

Yes. Begin with Tractatus. You can benefit much from Wittgenstein by reading his works in chronological order. You'll find that he begins to redact some of the propositional inferences he makes early on in the Tractatus, but nevertheless, he is still interested in the same things.

Keep in mind when reading Tractatus that most critics refuse to believe it is actually a critique on propositional logic, that Wittgenstein is demonstrating the absurdity of philosophical investigations into "problems" which he never really identifies as problems to begin with.

Anyhow, it is quite easy to get bogged down in the logic. Just keep in mind the "high-level" reading of the Tractatus and you should be off to a good start!

>> No.2241990

>>2241962

You should start by learning logic.

>> No.2242005
File: 68 KB, 207x263, 1320094033993.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]