[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 116 KB, 768x1024, 1650869149603.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
20299330 No.20299330 [Reply] [Original]

last thread >>20276028
I was granted another 3 day break, got some more reading done. Even studied a little. And I'm a terrible student. Tell me /lit/, what have you been up to these last few days...

The weather was overcast, so I didn't go to the park or the bookstore. When it's a nice day and I have the time I feel it's my obligation to read some lovely prose but when the weather is shit, YAHWEH demands I make the pretense of studying. So I studied the GRAMS as Ezra would say. I learned that 殿, usually meaning (palace) hall, is made up of two components, one means strike and the other means buttocks. So I guess the palace hall was the place where offenders or perhaps perverts got their bare cheeks paddled or whipped by the emperor's dickless goons.

>> No.20299337

I also read some 19th century journalism about the Cockney School controversy which led to some guy getting killed in a duel. Reading writers BTFO each other is fun but ultimately kinda hollow as the countless X refutes Y threads on /lit/ amply demonstrate, I'm less a fan of writers saying X is le bad than reading them enthuse about lit they love, which is why Powys's Suspendent Judgments and Visions & Revisions are my favorite books about books, enthusiasm is infectious. But anyway I thought this was a great passage of vitriol directed at some gay cunt named Leigh Hunt, which has way more power to it than the snarky productions of modern journos,