[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 45 KB, 800x577, SYO_CG_CP_TR_223.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
15010306 No.15010306 [Reply] [Original]

Feeling a bit down, /lit/. I graduated with first class honours in a science subject, but since then (and really before graduation) I began to feel like this isn't my primary interest now. I've always loved art and literature and most of my reading revolves around this. Maybe it's naive or childish to say, but I feels like everything I learn about art and history isn't valid or I'm not validated as someone with knowledge because I don't have a degree in it. I feel like I've went down the wrong path. My question, is whether or not one can read just out of interest but, more importantly, is one's knowledge base valid even without a formal qualification?

To give you an idea, I just read a large book on medieval manuscripts and script development. I was happy with what I learned, but then I thought of the people studying this subject. I'm just some guy to them. Maybe I put too much stock in academic institution and I shouldn't care. Of course I know that a lot of people read things just for interest, but I've always felt like I needed to somehow match up what I read with some grand academic idea.

>> No.15010322

>>15010306
Small amendment:
And I suppose this goes for writing in general. I've written all my life, but never attended a creative writing class or anything to do with the humanities in adult life.

>> No.15010345

>>15010306