[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 43 KB, 283x279, techne.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
13626483 No.13626483 [Reply] [Original]

I recently read Heidegger's "The question concerning technology" and was blown away by it, and has given me inspiration regarding my profession (theoretical physicist). I have decided to do a reading series on the question of technology and science, and need recommendations. I have some background in classical and scientific philosophy, but hardcore academic texts will be outside of my reach. Dutch translations of German preferred. So far I've read:

>The question regarding technology - Heidegger
>The glass bees - Junger

To read:
>Technology and modernity: Spengler, Jünger, Heidegger, Cassirer - David Roberts
>Man and technology - Spengler
>The physicists conception of nature - Heisenberg

Debating to read
>The industrial revolution and its consequences - Uncle Ted
>Something easily digestable by Marx and Land

I definitely need recommendations on modern, ancient and non-Teutonic texts.

TL;DR- Rec me books on the essence of technology.

>> No.13626493

>>13626483
Authors that might interest you:
McLuhan
Ellul
Baudrillard
Mumford

Maybe, some of Deleuze & Guattari?

>> No.13626501

>>13626483
Jacques Ellul is the guy for you. 'The Technological Soceity' and 'Propaganda'.

>> No.13626510

>>13626483
If you haven't quit your job already you are doing it wrong.

>> No.13626515

You can always go for the classic by Rousseau: First discourse on the arts and sciences

>> No.13626526

Stiegler, Technics and Time

>> No.13626552
File: 1.84 MB, 640x640, Accelerate the process.webm [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]