[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 119 KB, 778x1200, 61YZuVFUYIL.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
12414391 No.12414391 [Reply] [Original]

I'm new to literature and currently reading Lolita. While the prose is really pretty, an overwhelming amount of the text is completely fucking unnecessary. The amount of times I've been reading through a passage, thinking "will you get to the point already" before finishing it and realizing that there was no point to get to is staggering. The book is drowning in superfluous metaphors and descriptions while actual events seem to barely happen at all.