Quantcast
[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / g / ic / jp / lit / sci / tg / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports / report a bug ] [ 4plebs / archived.moe / rbt ]

Due to resource constraints, /g/ and /tg/ will no longer be archived or available. Other archivers continue to archive these boards.Become a Patron!

/g/ - Technology

View post   

[ Toggle deleted replies ]
File: 156 KB, 1344x742, download (2).jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google] [report]
71962640 No.71962640 [Reply] [Original] [archived.moe] [rbt]

Linux noob here,

After learning about all the telemetry and spyware bullshit on Microsoft products i'm looking to upgrade to Linux. Currently i'm running Mint, but I feel like I want to go further,
what does /g/ recommend?

I'm looking for something fairly private, but still usable. I know I could run tails if I were really serious but the UX on tails doesn't seem like a good trade-off to me. Since everything is run through TOR, its gonna be slow.
Manjaro seems like it might be a good option but i'm not too sure...

Maybe just running Ubuntu with VPN/firefox will be enough? Again, Linux noob here.

I'm probably gonna pair it with firefox and a VPN as well for an extra layer, if possible.

>> No.71962686

TailsOS

>> No.71962743

>>71962686
I mentioned tails in the Original post, I don't feel the trade off is worth it for a daily OS, since all traffic is run through TOR, and therefore will be pretty slow

>> No.71962771

>>71962640
Distro doesn't matter, use whatever you want. I suggest looking into firejail, shouldn't require any kernel tweaking and it has good defaults for a lot of programs. I wouldn't mess with the defaults too much until you're comfortable with it, but eventually look into running Firefox in a sandboxed X server (there's a good guide on this on the gentoo wiki).

>> No.71962783

>>71962640
>I'm looking for something fairly private, but still usable.
Pick one.