[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 3.61 MB, 3264x2448, bicycle (3).jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
863982 No.863982 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /diy, first time posting here so im not sure if what im posting belongs here or not.

im basically just asking for ideas how to repair an old bicycle which hasnt been used for more then 20 years.

i have no experience with bicycles so i have no idea how to start but i want to repair it without buying any parts.

im guessing i should start with:
-removing the rust
-shaping new pedals (out of wood would be the easiest option i guess)
- changing the color (gold is not my thing)
- changing tires

as you see i know theoretically what to do but i dont know how to do it.

it would help if you could post your suggestions and ideas.
i'll post all the pics of the bike i have.

>> No.863983
File: 3.40 MB, 3264x2448, bicycle (2).jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

here is another pic

>> No.863986
File: 3.51 MB, 3264x2448, Bicycle.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

the last one

yeah i should also change the saddle somehow ...

>> No.863996

>>863982
You need special tools called cone spanners to do the bearings. If it's been left out for ages you should grease the bearings.

Also it's just a shitty fixie.

>> No.864000

Pretentious hipster bullshit

>> No.864003

>>863982
That is no longer a bike, that is an art installation on the nature of abandonment and dying alone.

If you want a bike, first thing, acquire money. Second thing, look for used bikes on craigslist or whatever. Third thing, once you have a bike that might be salvageable(not that thing), google "sheldon brown" That's one of your best resources for bike stuff. Also youtube.

>> No.864008

>>863996
k thanks, now i know from where to begin