[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 189 KB, 1807x1044, 1930_Mercedes-Benz_SSK_34.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
822005 No.822005 [Reply] [Original]

Okay guys, I'm looking to get into fabrication/metalwork. My aim is to build a 1920s style car, from frame to engine to drivetrain to body. I work on cars for a living and this is one of my garage dreams, but I've never done this kind of stuff before.

I have a rough idea of what tools I need, but is there any go-to literature I should know about that covers machining, welding, basic structural desing, and coachbuilding? I understand that this is a pretty huge undertaking, so I intent to start on small scale first, but if anyone has resources or knowledge to give, I'm all ears.

>> No.822008

>>822005
learn to metal shape. you're gonna need at least a tubing bender, an English wheel, a few different types of hammers. and some sort of bead/edge roller machine that's name escapes my head.

>> No.822077

>>822005
You want to build the engine too?

>> No.822079

>>822005
While I'm sure there's plenty of knowledge here, there's tonnes of god tier panel bashers on >>>/o/, might be worth a visit there as well.

Godspeed OP.

>> No.822120

>>822008
I'll have to look into getting those kind of tools, certainly.

>>822077
That's the plan. I'll start with small scale single cylinders, then an inline 4, then the final V8.

>>822079
I frequent /o/, and while there may be some good panel beaters there, the rest is full of bench racers and poorfags who know jack all about machining or fabricating. While I'd like the body to look alright, my main goal is making almost all of the components myself, too.

>> No.822131
File: 57 KB, 640x480, 21carden_carrosa.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>822120