[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 912 KB, 3264x1836, WP_20141201_008.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
734910 No.734910 [Reply] [Original]

Guitar Effect Pedal building thread!
It's been a while since one of these has been up, so let's get talking, build sharing, or otherwise discussing guitar effect pedals and similar audio signal modifying projects!

This recent build of mine has been dubbed the "Fuzzy Caterpillar" because I simply could not think of anything better. It's a personal modification of Zachary Vexter's Fuzz Factory (FF schem will be posted in the next post). I used silicon transistors instead of germanium because I am a poor college student.

What have YOU build /diy/nosaurs?

As usual, if you don't know a whole lot about guitar effect pedal building, or designing, feel free to ask and learn!

>> No.734915
File: 139 KB, 1755x1116, zvex-fuzzfactory-rev1-1.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>734910
Okay, about that schematic I promised!

This is the Fuzz Factory schematic, designed by GFX guru Zachary Vexter. Smart guy, his design looks like someone took the Fuzz Face idea of two transistors wired in sequence (like a Darlington transistor pair) and put potentiometers all over the place to control every resistor you could possibly want to.

Just kidding, it's a pretty well thought out design, when built with silicons, it gives wild gain, and if tweaked enough, it can turn any signal sent into the pedal into completely incoherent noise (which I like).

>> No.734925
File: 841 KB, 3264x1836, WP_20141201_004.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>734915

It's rather late in EST, so before I sign off, I'll dump a list of links that I believe will be rather helpful:
EDIT: Spam filter is being a nuisance, check this pastebin: