[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 301 KB, 701x420, trade_school[1].jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
693234 No.693234 [Reply] [Original]

Right now I work as a loading lead for an major auto service company. It's a pain in the ass, as I spend 10-12 hours/day working for next to nothing. I want to get into a trade school, but I can't seem to find a lot of good information out there about them, so I figure /diy/ is the best place to ask.

>What are some good trades to get into? (in terms of pay, I don't mind working hard)
>Are apprenticeships paid?

Really, any advice is appreciated.

>> No.693241

Electrician, cabinetry, power company lineman if you're not afraid of heights and are fit. (Climbing poles is a big pain in the ass if you're out of shape) and the first 5 years you are the bitch around the shop and have to climb everything, even if there's a guy on site with a bucket, he'll just stare at you until you climb the pole.

>> No.693317

I'm about a month into Carpentry at my local trade school. Once the class is over my teacher will recommend me into the union where i'm guaranteed 24$ an hour starting. No entry test either. Journeymen make 38$ an hour but need to pass the contractors test

>> No.693320

>>693317
How much did it cost you?

>> No.693343

>>693320
800$, however it's free for high school students. They even get bused over for free.

>> No.693391

>>693234
HVAC/R technician.
Preferably just refrigeration technician, but it is easier to get work as HVAC and switch to refrigeration.

Excellent pay, making electricians and plumbers and other lower tier trades look like walmart employees.

Green techs, straight out of community college make $15 bucks an hour minimum. And that is in NC, not the best paying state for any trade.