[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 45 KB, 600x400, 2-coca-cola.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
62575 No.62575 [Reply] [Original]

hey /diy/, I'm a college student, and get through a lot of coke. Over the term, I've collected about 10 2 litre bottles, and really want to make something with them.

The catch is, I want to make something functional and useful. Whether that's mechanical, vehicular, or even to do with something flowing through them to achieve some purpose. I just hate the idea of simple gluing them together, or painting them or whatever, and just making them pretty. Using them for storage also strikes me as really dull.. Too passive.

At the moment, I'm trying to teach myself some electronics (wrestling with whether or not to buy and arduino uno..), so maybe that could be involved somehow too? I also own a glue gun, but could no doubt acquire other tools as necessary.

I dunno, it feels like there's the potential to make something really cool, but I can't quite think of it!

Any thoughts or ideas welcome!

>> No.62577

Make a compressed air and water powered rocket.

>> No.62579

Cut the top off and use as a funnel.
Use to store drinking water.
In summer time, freeze it for cold water all day long in the sun.
You can fill them with water or sand and hang them off a tarp.
Make ghetto planters.
Cap an empty 2L and you have a floater.
Put dry ice in, make a bang.
They make good piss jugs.

>> No.62580
File: 128 KB, 553x795, soda planter.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

You could use them as planters.

>> No.62581
File: 215 KB, 984x666, soda sub.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>> No.62584
File: 20 KB, 240x320, soda bottle jet pack.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

Not really what you're looking for, I just think it's cool.