[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 75 KB, 720x540, writing-in-truck.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
592827 No.592827 [Reply] [Original]

The scope of the project is sort of broad. Tell me if there's a better place to post this.

I'm thinking about living in truck in a relatively cold climate. I'll buy the truck and build the infrastructure (bed, shelves, insulation, etc) myself. I'll use an inverter for charging small electronics while the truck is off. I'm new to all of this. What sort of truck would you get? What sort of wood would you use? A fridge and microwave are likely out of the question, so what sort of diet should I aim for? Can I safely install the inverter on my own or should I get more skilled help? If you did this, what would your setup look like? Any tips or potential problems?

Thanks

>> No.592857

>>592827
Inverters are easy to install and use. A fridge would likely have to be a propane powered model so you'd be adding quite a bit of bulk and some complexity. A camp stove and ice chest, however, would be easy enough. Just use the stove safely.

Two bad things about trucks is that the larger ones get really bad gas mileage and the bed isn't insulated. So make sure to factor that in. You might consider a minivan. About the same floor space but with more headroom, much better insulation, and typically better MPG.

I was forcibly homeless for a 18 months and slept in my van. A 95 Honda Odyssey. While it got cold in the winter, this was in Oregon during one of the coldest winters in recent history, I just ran the heater until it warmed up. In the meanwhile I would work or play on my laptop and listen to the radio. Then it was tuck up into the sleeping bag, read for a while, and sleep.