[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 1.38 MB, 2272x1704, homebrew.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
591443 No.591443 [Reply] [Original]

Any homebrewers here?

>> No.591454

>>591443

From the thumbnail I thought I'd misclicked onto /r9k/ and it was another pissbottle thread.

>> No.591470

Yes I am. I'm also working my way into commercial got an apprenticship hopefully get a paying gig down the road

>> No.591484

>>591443
Yes, >>587956 and >>589406

>> No.591499

yep.

I've been doing it for about 5 years.

>> No.591608

Yep, this is the place.

My kegs are running out, I gotta make some beer. Dunno what to make, though, anyone got a good recommendation for something that's ready to drink quick? I made something like that recently, this recipe:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f68/coconut-cream-stout-competition-runner-up-394244/
It was delicious right out of the primary. Might try it again without the coconut, but sort of want to try something different also.

>> No.591727

>>591608
You want something quick go with a cream ale.

>> No.591732

>>591608
you can get the fermentation down to like 5 days but bottle carbing still takes 2 weeks. if you can force carb in a keg then you can make drinkable beer pretty fast.

>> No.591740

>>591608
Honestly most beer is better aged to. In breweries they can do some tricks to help speed it up like oxidase the shit out of their fermentation tank.

If you want something like that for your homebrew set up I've seen people use fish pumps. But you need to have a healthy ass starter and your efficiency rating has to be pretty spot on.

Force carbing is a must to if your about the no waiting game, but some of my most stand out beers were to green at first, in the closet for awhile and bam

>> No.591819

>>591608