[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 363 KB, 907x907, BeagleBoard_C4_Front.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5891 No.5891 [Reply] [Original]

Questions about microcontrollers, prototyping, PCB layout, software, and the like? I'm an embedded software engineer and have done hardware design in the past, so ask away!

>> No.5972

What is a good, simple software to design pcbs? Eagle is really confusing. I'd like more control and less bullshit. I just want something to send to like batchPCB. ideas?

>> No.5985

Any pointers for designing a "real" USB connection? MCU side stack, PC side stack?

>> No.6034

>>5972
Multisim by National Instruments is damn easy!

>> No.6103

>>6034
where can I get it? it costs a fortune!

>> No.6168

If the OP is still here, I would love to ask something.

>> No.6302

Am Also Embedded Programmer

OP, what language do you prefer? I mainly work in C but I have on a few occasions done Embedded C++ because of various requirements or APIs.

>> No.6398

>>6168
Sorry, I got banned for a legit URL. I'm too lazy to go ask on IRC to remove it so I'll just hope the mods don't feel like giving me a perma for dodging.

>>5972
Pretty much all EDA software is going to have an awful interface. Eagle is your best bet if you don't feel like spending crazy amounts of money, I'd just stick at it.

That said, circuitapp looks promising.

>>5985
The first question is: do you actually need that type of speed?

I personally haven't, so I'm not too certain of what the preferred method is. You may want to take a look at V-USB?

>>6302
All C, I work on some 16-bit applications and there's little to no C++ compiler support there.

>> No.6400