[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 35 KB, 400x300, whatamievendoing.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
492486 No.492486 [Reply] [Original]

Hello /diy/

So for months I have been wanting to upgrade my computer for the first time by myself for quite some time now. My biggest issue is that I've never done something like this before, so I don't really know where to start. I have watched a few videos on YouTube to try and familiarize myself with the inside of my computer.

Besides not really knowing what would be the best to buy, I'm afraid that it's going to turn into a domino effect. Like, "Oh you wanna get a new graphics card? Nope you need a better power source. Oh you need a new power source? You need a better motherboard for that, etc."

So, I was hoping that if I threw up some of my computer specs, some kind scholar could point me in the right direction of either learning more about doing this, or suggesting products to buy. The whole point of me wanting to do this is to learn how to do it, and to generally improve the quality of my PC. I'm a gamer that's trying to learn.

PC Specs:

HP P7-1254
Processor: AMD A8-3870 Quad Core with Radeon HD Graphics (3.00 GHz)
AMD Radeon HD 6550D
64-bit OS
8GB RAM
1TB Hard drive

please help

>> No.492494

>>492486
you don't need a new motherboard to support a new psu
you may need one to support a new gpu, and that will involve a new processor
but the fact that you're starting with a prebuilt means that you're already a lost cause

>> No.492496

>>492494

Pretty much had no choice but to start off with a prebuilt. Most of day is spent on a computer, whether it be work, or gaming. It have to quarrels to building a computer from the ground up- however again, I do not no where to start.

>> No.492497

>>492496