[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 266 KB, 402x363, harmahgerd_leernd.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
468829 No.468829 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /diy/nobots.

I'm considering purchasing this home which comes with a land plot of 113,212 sq/ft, about 2.6 acres.

What are some options I have for what to do with this land, perhaps something lower maintenance that could earn some scratch?

I was thinking about a tree nursery, which I have little knowledge of except that it's less involved than farming and cultivating.

>> No.468838

Chickens. That is loads of room for a sizeable roosting area and laying pens etc.

You can let them free range and they will automatically seek refuge in the roosting/laying quarters when night fall starts to come, particularly if you supplement their diet with a bit of feed, which you give to them inside of those areas. They start to learn, food, shelter etc. is in here.

Then you set up a nice little stand out the front of your house with local fresh, free range eggs. You would be surprised the amount of money you can pull in.

I currently have around 40 chickens (and a couple roosters), everyone from my neighborhood and some from surrounding neighborhoods all buy their eggs from me now, I make around $100 a week, that's after I've bought feed and shit as well.

Once you have the chooks pumping, you use their shit as fertilizer, build yourself some raised square garden beds which are cheap as fuck to knock up. Compost the shit with, grass clippings, food scraps etc. Get yourself some nice seasonal veggies growing. Just make sure to put chicken wire/fencing around the vegetable patches so the chooks dont get in and start scratching up the soil and fucking up your plants.

Expand your little stall to include fresh organic vegetables.