[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 49 KB, 640x480, failed ied.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
465577 No.465577 [Reply] [Original]

First time here

I'm not too good with electronics and would like some help.

I have a small 24v generator, and I only need 12v of its output.

How would one go about "limiting" the output of that source ?

>> No.465579
File: 4 KB, 405x254, img00003.gif [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

You want to use a chip called an LM317T. It's an adjustable voltage regulator. They're cheap and can be found at The Shack. 24v goes in the IN pin, and 12v goes out the OUT pin (+- 1.5v), depending on the resisters you set up between the ADJ pin, the OUT pin, and the ground. Google for it, there will be mountains of info.

MAKE SURE YOU USE A HEAT SINK FOR THE CHIP! THE UNWANTED VOLTAGE IS BLEED OFF AT HEAT ENERGY

>> No.465582

>>465579
Alrighty, I'll look into resistors now.

Thanks

>> No.465587

>>465582
Right. The two required resistors, referred to as R1 and R2, determine the percentage of the input voltage that is present at the output. There is a formula for this that you can find online by searching for "lm317t calculator".

>> No.465600

There's also the buck part of a buck/boost converter. They can be very efficient.

>> No.465620

anybody know what is shown in OP's pic?

>> No.465623

>>465620
it's a failed IED detonator ; note the palm trees in the background, the one failed missed call and the military dress of the obsured figure, also the FRICKING FILENAME goddam, why didn't I see that in the first place...

>> No.465625

>>465623
herp derp you must be a genius.

but really, anybody know what that device is? the phone alone could act as a detonator. what's on it?

>> No.465628

>>465625
derp, it's a relay..