[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 74 KB, 625x393, above_the_auto_parts_store.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
453556 No.453556 [Reply] [Original]

Hey /diy/!
Are any of you involved in a DIY music scene? I know here in Philadelphia, we have a pretty broad and awesome network of basement venues and art spaces and other DIY venues. I've always loved these places because of how nice everyone tends to be and how community-oriented it is.

Does anyone else get involved with this sort of thing?

>> No.453624

I'm a DIY artist in south Florida. Dunno if we have much of a scene for that here. We have a general local music scene, but I don't think that counts.

>> No.453627

Quite a sausage fest you got there.

>> No.453634

>>453627

That's EXACTLY what I was thinking. Looks like every one of them should be wearing Fedoras.

>> No.453637

I used to be into the Philly and a bit of the Baltimore scene, moved to new Hampshire for a year then moved back to PA.

>> No.453638

>>453556
WTF IS DIY MUSIC SCENE?

I seriously don't get it, and I live in Philly. Is it just dirty hipsters making drum sets out of
garbage and clanging together live wires?

I am very DIY minded but I dont listen to music where people make their own shotty instruments and touch two live wires together,

>> No.453655

>>453634
fuck you that's Lightning Bolt one of the greatest bands ever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Rha2EeCSu0

>> No.453668

>>453655

I meant mostly the crowd.

That video rates in the top 10 of shittest things I've ever listened to though. It was incoherent mumbling and the same 4 power chords in EXACTLY the same way for 4 minutes.

>> No.453696

>>453668
I checked it out because you said that vid was so bad. I was unprepared for that. That is easily one of the worst bands ever.

>> No.453697