[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 306 KB, 720x960, 2012-08-08 18.41.16.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
268819 No.268819 [Reply] [Original]

So this may not be the best place to go about this but I figured I'd give it a shot. Not a total noob with computers but also not amazingly savvy.

Either way, here is my issue: this morning i decided to open up my computer and clean the dust from the inside. I do this every six months or so. I ussually focus on the fan and afterwards my computer tends to run faster.

today it didnt run at all. The power button shows no indication of power working nor do any of the fans turn on or anything like that. The only indication that there is life left in my computer is the blinking green light on the back by the power button. Ifugred something went wrong and undid some screws and opened the box where the power plug goes in and found it to be covered in even more dust (never opened it before) so i cleaned it. still no help. Checked all plugs to see whatsup but as you can see from the picture, theres a lot of useless pugs just kind of laying around.

any advice on how I might go about fixing this? will post pictures of computer

>> No.268823

It's possible your front panel on your box has either become disconnected or shorted out during cleaning.

There's also a possibility your PSU has died. Do you have any old PSU's laying around?

>> No.268825

>>268823
Also, before cleaning you should really remove all components from inside your box.

>> No.268828

Start by reseating everything. unplug the computer from power then unplug and plug the internal connectors back in (mobo power, mobo aux power, etc), push both sides of all your ram modules down to make sure they're seated, same to the PCI cards. Plug it back in and report.

>> No.268829