[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 1.28 MB, 2560x1920, positiveandnegativeedit_cleaned.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
205320 No.205320 [Reply] [Original]

Hello everyone, recently I purchased a laser module off of some Chinese wholesale website. As usual, the product came with the wires practically bent off. The problem is that I have no experience in soldering and was wondering if you could give me some tips.

Some questions are...

Do I have to desolder the solder already on the component before I reattach the wires? Or can I just re-heat the solder already on there and attach the wire to that.

If I have to desolder, do I need a desoldering gun?

The only tools that I have are a cheapo soldering gun (cost like $8, 30w I believe) and some solder.

I would appreciate any tips as I am a complete amateur at soldering. Thanks.

Thank you for your time.

>> No.205324
File: 1.42 MB, 2560x1920, negativeedit_cleaned.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

more images

>> No.205328

>>205320
>just re-heat the solder already on there and attach the wire to that.

>> No.205329

>>205320
1. That will likely work.
2. If you have a soldering iron you can remove solder using solder wick. Flux helps too.

>> No.205330

>>205328
Again, I have no clue what I am talking about.

>> No.205332

its a soldering iron, and yes you can just heat the solder while pushing the wire into it.

you never need a desoldering pump unless you are going to be doing allot of do-over work, there is solder wick which works wonders for 99% of jobs.

>> No.205334

>>205330
I was quoting the part that was right.
Though usually you would need to apply some flux to it to make a solder connection right.

>> No.205337

>>205334