[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 34 KB, 700x700, ac750-wireless-dual-band-4g-lte-router-archer-mr200-eu-version-2747-700x700.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1756910 No.1756910 [Reply] [Original]

What would be a good material to use to make a weather tight enclosure? I'm thinking wood (birdhouse) or a small plastic barrel upside down on a pole. I'm a welder by trade but I don't want to make a Faraday cage type box.
Thoughts?

>> No.1756912

>>1756910
Tupperware.

>> No.1756930

>>1756912
Oh yeah. That's a great idea. Thanks for doing my thinking for me :)

>> No.1756938

>>1756910

and, exactly how much outdoor range do you expect to get out of a cheap consumer grade router? this wont end well... also moisture, humidity, heat, cold. they arent designed for that environment

>> No.1756943

>>1756938
It's not so much about range as position. Due to layout of house and 3ft thick stone walls, it would be perfect in a certain location and would reach my entire property. Obviously use an airtight box, tupperware like anon said would be perfect. I can paint the tubberware black to keep sun out and I'm not too worried about cold as they produce some heat.

>> No.1756946

>>1756910
I've had poly drums outdoors since ~2006 storing chicken food and engine parts with zero deterioration.

There is another way. My shipping container machine shop acts as a Faraday cage so I holesawed a 1" hole through the side, made a PVC pipe feedthrough, then potted a USB wifi adapter to the tubing and sealed the whole thing with 3M 5200 adhesive sealant (do NOT use silicone, use 5200). It's impervious to weather and while it looks like a turd (I used a broken tube of 5200 as it was handy and gobbed it on) it works perfectly. If the adapter dies I'll chop it off and buy another adapter and cable.