[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 373 KB, 1600x865, hydroponics-farming.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1217301 No.1217301 [Reply] [Original]

Newbie here, I want to get into indoor gardening and hydroponics so that I can go full hermit if the need arises (coming here from /g/, you understand)
Here's the image I have in my head right now: In my room I have a fish tank, the fish eat their fish food and produce waste. This waste feeds the plants whose roots are extending into the tank and water.
Is this at all viable? Basically I want to create some kind of contained ecosystem for the sake of minimal intervention or tending required.
Again, I'm very new, so I don't know a lot about the sciences behind gardening and such, nor do I know a lot of lingo or buzzwords.
Any help would be appreciated, and I guess anyone else looking for help can post here too.

>> No.1217310

Resources and tools available are very minimal, but I things like drills, hammers, saws (my brother's a carpenter), but nothing like pbc piping or the such.

>> No.1217312

>>1217301
>fertilizing your food with fish poop
theoretically sounds like a reasonable idea, but it sounds gross

>> No.1217319
File: 217 KB, 1280x1024, aquaponics-grow-bed-2.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

It's 100% viable, many commercial aquaponic farms operate like that.

There are some things you need to watch out for. For example, if there's too much ammonia in the water then you either have too many fish or too few plants.

You use a simple pond pump to circulate the water, and build a waterfall somewhere to oxygenate it.

That will make the plants grow. You only need to read up on how to actually breed the fish.

>> No.1217320

>>1217301
dude weed, lmao

>> No.1217334

>>1217301