[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 2.25 MB, 852x619, DIY_DIE_website.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1117765 No.1117765 [Reply] [Original]

i have a masters in electrical engineering yet its still illegal for me to install a down light.

>> No.1117767

>>1117765

I have no official qualifications and yet it's legal in quite a few places for me to do electrical work on commercial properties if it's part of my job description.

Welcome to law.

>> No.1117769

>>1117767

Are you uk based?

Here commercial literally has no qualification. The regulations simply say you must be competent. Which is a joke as its so subjective.

>> No.1117772

>>1117767
>>1117769
is there anywhere in the world where its outright illegal besides Australia?

>> No.1117773

>>1117769
>Which is a joke as its so subjective.

It's not, here everyone can install electricity but you can be held responsible of you do not comply to the norms. So instead of the person who does it, the focus lies on the way it's done. Now tell me what makes more sense. A qualified retard, or a unqualified person who complies to safe electrical standards?

>> No.1117776

>>1117769

Commiefornia.

It's apparently legal to work on my employer's property, but not legal to do the exact same work on contract.

That's my understanding, at least. But, hey, I work for an old church property, which apparently gets a pass for damn near everything, between the non-profit title and grandfathering laws. The last time I went to swap out the faulty garbage disposal, my wire cutters blew up because the switch was breaking neutral instead of hot. It took me and a licensed electrician 3 hours to figure out the wiring scheme for a single room with an electrical issue.