[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 133 KB, 600x600, SKU127209t(1)[1].jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
1029337 No.1029337 [Reply] [Original]

So I'm great with computers, work in IT and all that but this electrical stuff is just not making sense to me. This is why I'm not an engineer.

So I need to get about 17.4 metres (57") of led strips setup and with a wireless controller. I've found these cheap Chinese ones which look like they'll be good enough, but I don't get what kind of power I need for them.

I guess I just need to multiply the wattage by 4? That would be 240w and so I just get a 240w power supply? And what kind of wiring do I need to do to get this kind of supply working?

Will connecting 4 of these together even work in the first place and all be controllable by the one remote? Is there any other parts I'm missing? I'm completely out of my element here.

Strips: http://www.banggood.com/5M-RGB-Non-Waterproof-300-LED-SMD-5050-LED-Strip-Light-DC-12V-p-925678.html

Controller: http://www.banggood.com/Wireless-Dimmer-Touch-Panel-Controller-RF-Remote-For-RGB-LED-Strip-Light-DC12-24V-p-1050313.html

Power Supply: http://www.banggood.com/240W-110-220V-to-12V-20A-Switching-Power-Supply-For-Strip-Light-p-73834.html

>> No.1029349

If no-one here can help, does anyone know of another site I can go to or a tutorial,etc?

>> No.1029474

You dont have to calculate shit. Thats an LED RGB SMD 5050 (5 meters long) and they make specific parts for those. One power adapter per 5 meter roll. Just dont get cheap and start guessing on whats parts to use. Just buy the proper parts. All over ebay. Get the seller to answer these questions.

>> No.1029495