[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ck/ - Food & Cooking

View post   

File: 206 KB, 1600x1066, choco coconut milk ice cream.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
5471268 No.5471268[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

Thinking of buying an ice cream maker and making my own ice cream. I'm new to the whole process and am planning to use coconut milk, stevia, vanilla extract, and egg yolks.

Does anyone know if that recipe's alright or have any tips to share?

>> No.5471275
File: 490 KB, 449x401, laughingwhores.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>5471268
>stevia
lol fatty misses his ice cream? are the weight watchers portions not enough for you?

>> No.5471280

>>5471275
Fat kid making fun of someone for trying to eat a little bit healthier.

>> No.5471310

>>5471275
>implying the egg yolks aren't way more caloric than using sugar would be anyway

>> No.5471316

>>5471310
nah dude, sugars pretty caloric, moreso than egg yolks, which contains approximately 50 calories

But I definitely think OP should use actual sugar over stevia, I find that stevia's usually a bit too sweet for me

Also, heavy cream is necessary, otherwise the ice creams going to be really grainy with ice

>> No.5471343

>>5471316

>nah dude, sugars pretty caloric, moreso than egg yolks, which contains approximately 50 calories

reeeeeetarded

>> No.5471346

>>5471316
If we're talking gram-for-gram, egg yolks and sugar are actually just about the same.

>> No.5471357

>>5471316
>But I definitely think OP should use actual sugar over stevia
I'm trying to make an ice cream low on sugar and carbs.

>Also, heavy cream is necessary, otherwise the ice creams going to be really grainy with ice
That's why I'm using the egg yolks to maintain a creamy consistency less prone to icing up. This whole business is new to me though so any help's appreciated.