[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ck/ - Food & Cooking

View post   

File: 29 KB, 750x573, t0xxqapgnzvy.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11214094 No.11214094 [Reply] [Original]

Any ex-professional cooks/chefs on tonight? I could use some advice.

I have been working in kitchens for 11 years and I don't think I can take it much longer. I have done everything from street food to fine dining to pubs. I want to get out but cooking is pretty much my only marketable skill and I have no idea what to do with my life if I do. What do you guys do for a living now? Are you glad you got out or do you regret it? Anything you miss about professional kitchens?

>> No.11214098

>>11214094
I sign up for Publishers Clearing House every month, but am still working in kitchens.

>> No.11214152

>>11214094
I didn't do professional cooking for as long as you have amigo, less than 6 months actually, but as far as exiting that job market and moving to another, it's definitely rough but doable. The main thing you'll want to invest in is someone to go over your resume or have someone help you craft your resume in such a way that the skills you learned can be translated to another career field.

Yeah chopping garlic or fileting a fish probably doesn't sound like a marketable skill outside of Foodservice, but you can phrase your experience in such a way as:

-Responsible for high pressure customer service environments
-Able to multitask in fast-paced, dangerous environments.