[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 547 KB, 559x559, donnieT.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
9670705 No.9670705 [Reply] [Original]

Biz, should employers take into account the taxes/living costs of a certain area when figuring out salaries for employees?

ie my boss tells me I should be happy with my pay, and that i'm getting $25-27 an hour depending on hitting goals for bonus. However, I live in one of the top 5 most expensive cities in the US, and of course one of the highest taxed cities in the us (Seattle), so really coming out to about $20/hr. Keep in mind minimum wage here is $15/hr. I'm an operations manager (was promoted after a short time) at a startup working a stressful as shit job always having to put out fires, constantly on the phone with clients probably 40-60 calls a day (thankfully no cold calls), my weekend is in the middle of the week, only 12 days PTO per year (w blackouts), and have to work on holidays, AND no benefits. the thing is i really love this company and believe in it, but i just feel like i'm getting totally fucked pay wise. what does biz think?

>implying any of you neets actually have jobs.

>> No.9670737

I think you’re a cuck

>> No.9670761

>>9670705

Indirectly, yes. An employer should take into account how much their employees can get elsewhere. High cost of living cities are high cost of living areas due to increased demand and competition for resources, including labor.

>> No.9670795

Yeah you’re getting screwed, op management should be netting $30-40 an hour, do you get paid overtime? Or extra when working on holidays? Do you know the company’s revenue and costs? They may not be able to afford to pay you more yet. Are you invaluable? Or can any monkey do your job with a few weeks training?

>> No.9670818

>>9670705