[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/biz/ - Business & Finance

View post   

File: 2.55 MB, 1200x1697, king boo hungry.png [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
11258426 No.11258426 [Reply] [Original]

How do I get a job in STEM if I study something biology related but don't do any networking or internships?

>> No.11258495

You don't.

>> No.11258783

>>11258426
I have pharmacy degree and work in advanced analytics/data science team in R&D division of big pharma company.
As a mathematical modeler and data scientist I am a professional user of R among other langs and stacks. I learnt everything related to computer science/mathematic/statistics/probability on evenings and holidays during my university studies. If you want to get a good job with biology background and avoid being a cheap overworking whitecoated lab rat, you absolutely need strong quantitative skills (but stear far away from stuff from bioinformatic curricula - there are already fuckloads of bioinformaticians, even guys with bioinf. phd at my company are considers themselves super lucky for getting shitty entry jobs with shitty projects.
The best advice for you now would be to learn R language and the best start into it I can give you is swirl: https://swirlstats.com/students.html
swirl is a package containing interactive R tutorials going very meticuously from absolute basics to advanced features and techniques in used in professional enviromnment. We use it for our student interns to learn them R. You absolutely need to familiarize yourself with the "tidiverse" way of doing stuff in R.
For best chances for a top job in real data science you need to very well understand the business of your area, natural sciences degree is big plus.