[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

File: 58 KB, 621x414, studio.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
756561 No.756561 [Reply] [Original]

Le 3D memedustry general, only Emmy / Oscar / Game award-winning 3D pawns are allowed to write in this thread... Ok, this time everybody else working in the industry can write here as well, BUT NO HOBBYISTS ALLOWED.

Jokes aside, how is it working in the industry for you? Tell us something about your workplace. Me first:

>game industry
>props / environments
>about 6 months of experience, still a noob
>salary is actually really good

Negatives:
>I got into 3D somewhat late, I'm self taught and in mid 20s, I realized almost everyone is younger than me and has more experience than me, which is somewhat depressing, not gonna lie
>sometimes it does start feeling a bit like a grind and doing certain things like optimizing shit and unwrapping is pretty boring and mindless
>also, sometimes hands and fingers start hurting from all the mouse clicking

All in all, working in the industry is pretty much what I thought it would be, it isn't the best nor is it the worst. Honestly, I'm not sure if I imagine myself doing it for a long time though, I just happened to get a job opportunity without asking for it and have been doing 3D as a hobby. When the project is big, you're just a small barely significant wheel in a system, and I definitely feel replaceable. I guess it will be a nice feeling once I see my work in a finished game for the first time.

And again, realizing I'm maybe too old and seeing younger people with better skills than mine feels bad. That's what happens when you focus on a one thing in life I guess, I'm more of a generalist and pursued different interests in different times, though. Now I don't know if I should feel bad about it or not.

>> No.756579