[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/3/ - 3DCG

View post   

File: 57 KB, 750x470, bf06a5834100b622d0c1d9f3bf9f3ceb.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
699465 No.699465 [Reply] [Original]

Its pretty well known by now that most Vidya companies recycle assets to use them in various games, the diffrence is the big guys know how to do it in clever ways, so that unless your eye is trained you never know it's a clone.
How does one do this? Shaders, retexturing, retopology? I'm a solo indie dev and its simply not possible for me to create every individual character model for my game. As there are several dozen becuse its an areana shooter with extra "skins" for characters.

But the recent Pokemon sword and shield controversy has terrified the fuck out of me. Im scared to reuse anything for fear of gamers calling me "lazy" So how do I reuse my exsisting assets without being a douche?

>> No.699466
File: 95 KB, 1280x720, maxresdefault.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>> No.699467

>>699465
There's literally nothing fucking wrong with reusing your assets. It's just being smart.
Whether it's a barrel or a house or a sexy chicky babe.
It becomes a problem when it's so obvious that it jarrs the viewer. This relates to all art really, not just reusing 3D assets.
You don't have to recreate from scratch a whole new npc if all it needs is a new shirt and face, you would be retarded to do otherwise.

Like you said though if gamers start calling you lazy it becomes a marketing problem.
Personally the Pokemon one was avoidable, they should have known because everyone sees from the same angle it would be noticable.

>> No.699477

>>699465
>Im scared to reuse anything for fear of gamers calling me "lazy"